About Feelings… [Relationships]

funny-quotes-relationships1

As I’ve said in a post forever ago, I am attempting to date more. I have recently discovered that I’m emotionally retarded (before anyone jumps on my about my use of “retarded” look it up, there are actual definitions for this word.)

I met this guy through OKC and on Friday went on my second and a half date. First date was coffee meet and greet, so I don’t know if you can necessarily count that as a full “date.” He’s nice, a bit quiet, and rather nerdy. Not bad, yeah?

The first official date was at a bar that had a name I believe should be attached to a strip club, but I guess the bar got to it first. It was a small place off in a not so savory part of town made up of craft beers that change regularly. We chatted about television mostly, Jurassic Park, Game of Thrones (DON’T SPOIL ANYTHING I HAVEN’T SEEN THE NEW SEASON!), etc. We talked about work and types of beers we enjoy. We mentioned things we would like to do such as travel (where we’ve been/where we’d like to go). All in all not bad. One thing though, he kept trying to convince me to go back to his place to watch GoT, which is a silly way to get me to spend the night seeing as if I’m watching GoT I AM WATCHING GoT! It demands all my attention.

Second date we went to a bar that was lacking on the beer selection, but showed Labyrinth therefore I approved. Once again the conversation generally stayed the same. I sprinkled in some more information about myself, and allowed him to carry the conversation as well (spoiler: he didn’t). After that we went bowling (where I sucked), but it was so much fun (seriously, how could you not have fun during disco bowling?)

On our way home where I had chosen to walk he led us in the wrong direction and ended up having to take a cab. While waiting, he awkwardly placed his arm around me for a moment before pulling it back. Then attempted to get me back to his place with promises of GoT.

Once I got home, buzzed from cheap beer and tired from work and bowling, I stumbled into bed. Unable to sleep, I reflected. Being a dating novice I wasn’t entirely sure what I should be feeling. Does the spark come naturally over time, or is it an instant “oh my god you’re so awesome!” I spoke to my roommate and my friends about this days before between date one and two, looking for some sort of sage advice.

They had none.

So, as I drifted in my haze of alcohol I thought about what I liked about him. Could I see myself continue dating this man? Has he done things I disliked? I like his geeky nature and interest in travel, but I disliked his meek demeanor and him tugging on a waitress’ sleeve to get her attention. But what solidified my decision, my feelings, was that I don’t remember what his face looks like.

I realized I couldn’t pick him out of a crowd.

The question now is, how do I deal with this information and relay it to him without being a bitch?

Relationships man…

Leave a comment