Flash [Creative Non] Fiction- The Moment on 11th Ave.

So, this happened forever ago. I wrote a longer version of this “encounter” (it was barely 15 seconds), but I figured I’d try some constrained writing. It was actually difficult to keep it at 150 words. I had to cut out all the unnecessary descriptions and personal feeling/reflections. Enjoy.

She walked towards me, back straight as a board. She moved without any reverberating force. Her body remained stiff. In one hand she held a trash bag stuffed to capacity, in the other a battered hamper. She wore a grin that rivaled the Cheshire Cat. Her cheeks resembled a chipmunk’s preparing for winter, pushed back to its limit. Between unmoving lips, her teeth chattered. From afar she seemed to be chatting to an unseen friend.

When our paths crossed, my spine tingled. The short encounter revealed no words from her moving mouth, but the sound of clacking teeth. From my periphery I saw deep scars lining her throat. And in that quick second, my eyes gazed upwards to her face and I see her head had turned. Facing me she clicked her teeth. When we finally moved on, I turned again to see her smiling face staring at me.

Clacking.

Leave a comment